About Division

Chambal Division

Chambal division is a part of  Chambal Valley of Madhya Pradesh. The three districts of Madhya Pradesh  Sheopur, Morena and Bhind are under Chambal division. The Chambal division area  spreads over 16054 km2 between  between 25 ° 15  North latitude to 26 ° 48  North latitude and 76 ° 31 East longitude to 79 ° 15 East longitude. The Chambal river, separates this region from Rajasthan and Uttar Pradesh, thus defines northern, north-western and north-eastern borders of the division. On the other side of the Chambal river i.e in the north of the Chambal division are Kota, Sawai Madhopur, Karauli, Dhaulpur in Rajasthan and Agra, Etawah districts of Uttar Pradesh , and the Parvati river in the west defines its border and  Shivpuri, Gwalior districts of Madhya Pradesh form its border in the south. In the east, Datia district and Jalaun district of Uttar Pradesh are bordering it.

M.P. under Chambal division It consists of 19 tehsils of three districts, including Sheopur, Vijaypur, Veerpur, Baroda, Karahal, Morena in Sheopur district, Porsa, Ambah, Morena, Jaura, Kailaras and Sabalgarh in Meena district and Mehgaon, Bhind, Ater, Mihona, Lahar in Bhind district. , Gohad, Rhone, Gormi. There are a total of 22 urban domiciles and 2212 rural domiciles in the study area.

Chambal division is spread in the middle of India and in the northern part of Madhya Pradesh. It is located on the National Highway No. 3 Agra-Mumbai Highway from the Division Headquarters. In terms of rail facilities, Chambal division headquarters is directly connected to North Central Railway, although the division area is directly connected to the districts of Uttar Pradesh, Rajasthan and Madhya Pradesh. The division is directly connected to major cities of the country by rail and road transport.

The Chambal division is looks elongated from southwest to north-east.